- Release Info -------------------------------------------------------------- -

  Artist:      Emery
  Album:       We Do What We Want
  Label:       Tooth & Nail
  Playtime:    39:49 min
  Genre:       Rock
  URL:         http://www.myspace.com/emery
  Rip date:    2011-03-24
  Street date: 2011-03-29
  Size:        64.39 MB
  Type:        Normal
  Quality:     215 kbps / 4410kHz / Joint Stereo

- Release Notes ------------------------------------------------------------- -

   Like From Autumn to Ashes, Nora, and Hopesfall, Emery combines an alternative
   pop/rock foundation with elements of screamo and melodic hardcore. A
   Christian theme also runs throughout the band's music, which often examines
   the contrasts between Heaven/Hell, melody/brutality, and conventional
   singing/guttural screaming. Formed in South Carolina in 2001, the band
   originally included the talents of recent college graduates Toby Morrell
   (vocals, guitar), Matt Carter (guitar), Joel Green (bass), Devin Shelton
   (guitar), Josh Head (keyboards), and Seth Studley (drums). After weighing
   their options, Emery's members decided that Seattle would be a better
   environment for a burgeoning band, prompting the group to move westward in
   September 2001.

   Once established in the Emerald City, Emery signed with the Seattle-based
   Tooth & Nail label, which united them with producer/engineer Ed Rose for the
   creation of the band's debut album. The Weak's End appeared in January 2004,
   followed by The Question in August 2005. Drummer Seth Studley left before the
   latter album's release, however, prompting the group to enlist Dave Powell as
   his replacement. One year later, bassist Joel Green also left the band,
   although the bandmates opted to relegate bass duties to guitarists Morrell
   and Shelton rather than admit a new member. I'm Only a Man arrived in 2007
   and signaled a new direction for the band, whose newfound use of synthesizers
   and increasingly melodic singing contrasted with the harsher sounds of
   Emery's previous work. One year later, however, the musicians reverted to
   their original sound with the While Broken Hearts Prevail EP, while 2009's
   ...In Shallow Seas We Sail proved to be a mix of both styles.

- Track List ---------------------------------------------------------------- -

  01. The Cheval Glass                                                  ( 3:16)
  02. Scissors                                                          ( 3:14)
  03. The Anchors                                                       ( 3:48)
  04. The Curse of Perfect Days                                         ( 4:27)
  05. You Wanted It                                                     ( 4:16)
  06. I'm Not Here For Rage I'm Here For Revenge                        ( 3:53)
  07. Daddy's Little Peach                                              ( 4:02)
  08. Addicted to Bad Decisions                                         ( 4:17)
  09. I Never Got to See the West Coast                                 ( 4:40)
  10. Fix Me                                                            ( 3:56)

- --------------------------------------------------------------------------- -
Get it Here!

No comments:

Post a Comment