- Release Info -------------------------------------------------------------- -

  Artist:      Pour Habit
  Album:       Got Your Back
  Label:       Fat Wreck
  Playtime:    36:32 min
  Genre:       Punk
  Rip date:    2011-04-04
  Street date: 2011-04-12
  Size:        65.17 MB
  Type:        Normal
  Quality:     237 kbps / 4410kHz / Joint Stereo

- Release Notes ------------------------------------------------------------- -

   It would be really easy for a lazy journalist or casual punk rock fan to
   unfairly pigeonhole Pour Habit without ever having heard them. After all,
   theyÆre a fast, riff heavy metallic/melodic punk band from Southern
   California, their name is a drinking pun and theyÆre on Fat Wreck Chords.
   However! That kind of reductive logic ignores that this is one of the most
   out there, genre bending artists to unapologetically mix up musical styles
   while weaving politics and partying together into a one of a kind manifesto
   that hearkens back to the early days experimentation in insurgent music. Pour
   HabitÆs new slab, Got Your Back, comes out on Fat Wreck Chords on April 12,
   2011, theyÆre about to have a whole lot of people talking about the way they
   do shit, which is frankly, pretty unusual. So, then, letÆs get to it. WhatÆs
   Pour Habit all about?
   Well, for starters, these dudes play a weird, technical hybrid of punk,
   metal, malt liquor and reggae. TheyÆve been known to spruce up their shows
   with break dancing, AND they can even do all this while drunk. And itÆs this
   very combination of off-beat musical proficiency and reckless debauchery that
   first attracted Fat Wreck Chords to Pour Habit like bums to a guy with some
   cigarettes and led to the re-release of their self released debut full
   length, Suiticide, subsequent high profile tours with such genre heavyweights
   and Pennywise, Strung Out and NOFX and finally landed them back in the studio
   with none other than Fat Mike himself at the helm, producing their new record
   Got Your Back. Can you imagine the hangovers that Mike must have fought
   through to bring you all these riffs and all this pummeling?
   And make no mistake, pummeling is the result of this collaboration. Got Your
   Back is thirteen tracks of ball melting, face burning speed, angular riffs,
   genre bending and lyrics about everything from Machiavellian political
   maneuvering to getting totally shithoused and a vibe that canÆt be easily
   categorized. ItÆs also worth mentioning that anyone looking for Suiticide
   part two will be disappointed. Sure, the party is still rolling on Got Your
   Back, but itÆs hardly the focus. ItÆs almost as if after the massive bender
   of touring on Suiticide the Pour Habit dudes woke up, brushed their teeth,
   dusted off their dicks and came correct with a vastly more emotionally heavy
   and politically driven album. But donÆt think that means it doesnÆt still
   totally slay. I guess one of the dudes in the band referred to their sound as
   ôa mountain landing on your faceö so uhàyeah, thatÆs heavy, and it kind of
   makes it sound like maybe they still get stoned every now and then, but still
   you gotta admit, that sounds pretty cool.
   Anyway, in support of Got Your Back, the boys in Pour Habit are hitting the
   road for the foreseeable future both as headliners and as support for more of
   the big guns in punk rock. Remember when I mentioned the break dancing
   earlier? That shit doesnÆt show up on the record, but it happens at the live
   show, which is, I donÆt think I need to tell you, not to be missed. IÆm
   talking about Kirk Hammet-esque riff blazing behind honest-to-pete headspins!
   Any way you slice it, Pour Habit puts on the kind of high energy show that is
   guaranteed to wig out your parents, so come get in on the party. And bring
   your boom box. This shitÆs uhàpoppinÆ off? Are the kids still saying that?
   No? Fuck. Okay, back to the Urban Dictionary I go.
   Got Your Back out April, 12th 2011 on Fat Wreck Chords

- Track List ---------------------------------------------------------------- -

  01. Dead Soldier's Bay                                                ( 3:00)
  02. Heads Of State                                                    ( 3:34)
  03. Greenery                                                          ( 3:27)
  04. Matter Of opinion                                                 ( 2:38)
  05. East 69th                                                         ( 1:36)
  06. Head In The Clouds (Danny's Song)                                 ( 3:21)
  07. Party                                                             ( 3:09)
  08. Teens Turned To Fiends                                            ( 2:32)
  09. Tomahawk                                                          ( 2:45)
  10. For All Who Have Given And Lost                                   ( 2:29)
  11. Gutterblock Boy                                                   ( 1:20)
  12. The Expert                                                        ( 3:30)
  13. Conscience Mind Of Revelation                                     ( 3:11)

- --------------------------------------------------------------------------- -
Get it Here!

No comments:

Post a Comment