- Release Info -------------------------------------------------------------- -

  Artist:      Bon Iver
  Album:       Bon Iver
  Label:       Jagjaguwar
  Playtime:    39:25 min
  Genre:       Indie
  URL:         http://boniver.org
  Rip date:    2011-06-17
  Street date: 2011-06-21
  Size:        65.78 MB
  Type:        Normal
  Quality:     221 kbps / 4410Hz / Joint Stereo

- Release Notes ------------------------------------------------------------- -

  First it was For Emma, Forever Ago. The soul in a refraction of icicles. A
  moment hanging like breath on air. And yet life û even still life û is not
  still. The story is not a story if it does not unravel. Your eyes you may cast
  backward, but the heart is locked in the chest and must beat forever forward.
  Bon Iver, Bon Iver is the frozen beast pressing upward from a loosening earth,
  one ear cocked to the echo of the ghost choir still singing, the other craving
  the martial call of drums tumbling, of thrum and wheeze. The desolation smoke
  has dissipated, cut with strips of brass. Celebration will not be denied, the
  cabinet cannot contain the rattle, there is meat on the bones.

  It's there right away, in the thicker-stringed guitar and military snare of
  "Perth," and "Minnesota, WI." Anyone who had a single listen to For Emma will
  peg Justin Vernon's vocals immediately, but there is a sturdiness û an
  insistence û to Bon Iver, Bon Iver that allows him to escape the cabin in the
  woods without burning it to the ground. "Holocene" opens with simple
  finger-picking. The vocal is regret spun hollow and strung on a wire. Then the
  snare-beat breaks and drives us forward and up and up until we fly silent
  through the black-star night, our wreckage in view whole atmospheres below.
  The vocals in "Hinnom, TX" ease to the muffled depths, while the
  instrumentation remains sparse and cosmic. "Calgary" is a worship song to
  everything For Emma mourned, and at the point in the final track "Beth/Rest"
  when Vernon sings, "I ain't livin' in the dark no more" it is clear he isn't
  dancing in the sunshine, but rather shading toward a new light.

  "Bon Iver is often equated with just me," says Vernon, "but you are who
  surrounds you, and for Bon Iver, Bon Iver I wanted to invite those voices as
  musical catalysts." Thus on the track "Beth/Rest" and throughout the album, we
  hear the pedal steel of Greg Leisz (Lucinda Williams, Bill Frisell), the
  uniquely layered low end of Colin Stetson's (Tom Waits, Arcade Fire)
  saxophones, the riffing of Mike Lewis' (Happy Apple, Andrew Bird) altos and
  tenors, and the lush horns of C.J. Camerieri (Rufus Wainwright, Sufjan
  Stevens). Bon Iver regulars Sean Carey, Mike Noyce and Matt McCaughan
  contributed vocals, drums and production, Rob Moose (Antony and the Johnsons,
  The National) helped with arranging and added strings, and fellow members of
  Volcano Choir, Jim Schoenecker and Tom Wincek provided processing.

  Bon Iver, Bon Iver was recorded and mixed at April Base Studios, a remodeled
  veterinarian's clinic located in rural Fall Creek, Wisconsin. The main
  recording space is constructed over a defunct indoor pool attached to the
  clinic. "It's an unique space and destination; it's our home out here," says
  Vernon, who purchased the structure with his brother in late 2008 with the
  sole intention of converting it into his ideal recording studio. "It's been a
  wonderful freedom, working in a place we built. It's also only three miles
  from the house I grew up in, and just ten minutes from the bar where my
  parents met." The creation of Bon Iver, Bon Iver was a three-year process, and
  Vernon says the completion of the studio paralleled the completion of the
  album. "I was writing and recording in the windows of time snatched between
  tours in support of For Emma," he says. "When I finally came home to hunker
  down for a solid stretch there was a feeling of solid ground and an
  opportunity for liberation waiting in the space for me."

  In the absence of solid ground, the whirlwind becomes a whirlpool, and Bon
  Iver, Bon Iver is Justin Vernon returning to former haunts with a new spirit.
  The reprises are there û solitude, quietude, hope and desperation compressed û
  but always a rhythm arises, a pulse vivified by gratitude and grace notes,
  some as bright as a bicycle bell. The winter, the legend, has faded to just
  that, and this is the new momentary present. The icicles have dropped, rising
  up again as grass.

  - Michael Perry

- Track List ---------------------------------------------------------------- -

  01. Perth                                                             ( 4:22)
  02. Minnesota, WI                                                     ( 3:52)
  03. Holocene                                                          ( 5:36)
  04. Towers                                                            ( 3:08)
  05. Michicant                                                         ( 3:45)
  06. Hinnom, TX                                                        ( 2:45)
  07. Wash.                                                             ( 4:58)
  08. Calgary                                                           ( 4:10)
  09. Lisbon, OH                                                        ( 1:33)
  10. Beth/Rest                                                         ( 5:16)

- --------------------------------------------------------------------------- -

No comments:

Post a Comment